May 2022 SMART Goal Project

Image by – LukeCunninghamPhotography on flickr.com

SUMMARY

I learned how to play the structure of complex chord progressions on piano

Role

Piano

Intention (SMART Goal)

By May 27th, 2022 as part of my School of Rock class, I will  have learned how to do complex chord progressions.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

 

I chose Beethoven beacuse of the way his chords are made, it is complex and brings a challenge.

Training Source(s)

Notes:

Talking about hand placement

How to make 4 note 7 chords

How to make arpeggios

How different scales can make a difference

Forming a minor 7th chord

Talking about how a simple progression can sound complex if you make it sound a certain way with hand placements plus everything else

SMART Goal Schedule

Day 1: Listening and studying chord progressions

Day 2 : Found a tutorial on YouTube that showed how to play different types of chords and progressions

Day 3: I brought out a midi keyboard and opened garageband to start

Day 4: Made tweaks to the piano sound on Garageband by using EQ and Reverb

Day 5: Started forming my own chords while following the tutorial

Day 6: 

Day 7: 

Day 8: 

PRODUCTION

SMART Goal Starting Point Evidence

Before

SMART Goal Ending Point Evidence

After

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

 

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

While working next to others, whenever I thought the progression sounded off, I would have my team memebers listen and tell me what to improve on.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I used Garageband and a Midi Keyboard.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

I think these skills I learned with music theory and chord prgessions will help me in the future with future compositions.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

 

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

 

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Ethan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *