Game Design Production Project – Session 2

SUMMARY

ROLE: Music Composer

INTENTION (SMART GOAL)

My intention and goal was to make music that has melody and focuses on sounding simple. I didn’t want the music to sound crazy to where that it would take focus off of the game, I wanted it to sound simple and in the background.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

One leader I look up to is Skrillex, he has made music for games. A song for a game that he made is this:

This song helped inspire me to help create the music for the game.

Training Source(s)

I have been focusing on melodys/counter melodys. Here is a video that I used to help inspire me in creating the main melody.

Project Timeline

I started coming up with music ideas for the game immdiately in the beginning. Near the end I had about 5 garageband projects, all of them being ideas. I ended up deciding on one.

Proposed Budget

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

https://skrillxd.itch.io/horror-tank

Skills Commentary

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1mfxlaT5xXq2KIzLx0hxsgOrPZxdD-__qk10-Q397NIU/edit#slide=id.gf65c05dca4_0_49

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

WAYS OF THINKING (CREATIVITY, INNOVATION, CRITICAL THINKING, PROBLEM SOLVING)

Whenever there was a glitch or problem, one of us would open the project and try to figure it out. We would communicate to each other what had to be fixed, and how we would accompolish that.

WAYS OF WORKING (COMMUNICATION & COLLABORATION)

We would have a meeting everyday and make tasks for each of us to do. We would also email each other if a problem came up, or if one of us had an idea to share. We also used a Trello board for more organization, and for our tasks.

TOOLS FOR WORKING (INFO & MEDIA LITERACY)

For making the music I experimented in Soundtrap a little bit, but I ended up using garageband for the main composistions. I choosed garageband over soundtrap only beacuse I feel like you can control and sound design more in garageband. The other tools I used are Construct for some coding and YouTube if I ever got stuck in Construct.

WAYS OF LIVING IN THE WORLD (LIFE & CAREER)

What I learned from this project is the same with third periods project, communication is important. There was never a time where we didn’t know what to do, we would always have a meeting and discuss our plans for each day. I also got to really think about how music can really affect a game. When listening to other teams game music compositions it made me think about the rythm and how either complex or simple it was.

Reactions to the Final Version

Some people liked the movement and some didn’t.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I think the game came out great! I’m honestly really happy with it. I think overall we could have worked on the graphics more, but overall I think the movement and everything else is really fun, especially since our game is multiplayer.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

I learned that making music for a game doesn’t have to be complicated, it should sound simple while at the same time having character to it.

Grammar and Spelling

Editor

Tristan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *