Bass Recording Project

Summary

We were assigned to create a bass line in GarageBand using the MIDI interface. I made one bassline.

This is a simple bassline I made, and it took about 15 minutes to make. It was interesting because I usually don’t make basslines so this was pretty fun.  😀

Bass Terms

  • Tonality – describes what makes western music sound different from other types of music
  • Root – the lowest note in the chord, usually the tonic
  • Walking Bass – a bass line consisting of usually scales or moving parts that doesn’t line up with the melody. The melody may be going up as the bass goes down or vice versa
  • Chromatic Scale – A scale that uses every note in the octave. It sounds darker.
  • Inversion – using a different note from the chord other than the root note as the bass note
  • Bass Riffs – A motif that you play on bass that adds to the song

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

I learned that basslines aren’t “easy” to make but there different. I’m sure it would be harder playing a actual bass then using garageband to create one. Overall this was a fun experience, and I’m glad I learned to do it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *