Making beats project

Summary

We were tasked to make some drum beats, so I mashed up a bunch of drums and this is what I got.

I went to this website called onlinesqeuencer.net and I selected the drum kit and just started messing around. I started hearing some rhythm, so I started actually arranging the drums to make them sound nice.

Rhythm Terms

Rhythm

A strong, regular, repeated pattern of sound.

Beat

The beat or PULSE in a piece of music is the regular rhythmic pattern. Like the beating of your heart; heartbeat.

Tempo

The SPEED at which a piece of music is to be played.

Accent

The STRESS given to a musical note.

Duration

The period of TIME during which a musical note is HELD OUT.

Meter

A specific rhythm determined by the NUMBER of beats AND the TIME VALUE assigned to each note.

Syncopation

The musical rhythms in a piece of music that accents a normally WEAK BEAT (off-beat/up-beat).

Cross Rhythm

A rhythm used simultaneously with another rhythm or rhythms. The use of two or more rhythms simultaneously.

Duple

When the meter of a piece of music consists of TWO BEATS per measure/bar.

Triple

When the meter of a piece of music consists of THREE BEATS per measure/bar.

Quadruple

When the meter of a piece of music consists of FOUR BEATS per measure/bar.

Accelerando

A gradual increase of tempo in a section of music.

Ritardando

A gradual decrease of tempo in a section of music.

Rubato

A flexible tempo in a section of music.

What I Learned

I learned that drums are actually really interesting, and when you layer a drum with other drums it is actually AMAZING. And the website I use was really simple and easy to use.  onlinesqeuencer.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *